Skip to content

live to party

July 13, 2009

6.27.09

What’s the best part about being 13 years-old? Well, my little sister might answer, “watching the Disney Channel, and going to a Jonas Brothers’ concert!” But then again, I might just have a similar answer at age 25 🙂

Last month, I was able to get a great deal for a pair of tickets to the Jonas Brothers, and totally surprised my sister after one of her track meets. Back in May, for her birthday, I challenged her to make a list of thirteen things she wanted to do while being 13 years-old. One of the items on the list was to see JB live… she thought it was an impossible dream, and look how things turned out!

manda+tix

I had her go to my bedroom, look in my purse for something, with the intention of her finding the tickets right in there. My mom, bro Zack and I were in my living room waiting for her to come out and see her face… it was pretty awesome 🙂

jonastix1-1

We got ready in record time, left for Portland and we made it to the Rose Garden just in time.

jbbus_1

The first thing to greet us at the door was their tour bus. It was the coolest thing! It’s basically this giant canvas on wheels.

jb_bus

Of course, we had to sign it, so Amanda and I found one of the few clean surfaces and left our little mark on the Jonas lovebug.

DSCN2569RSCN2786DSCN2568DSCN2592

Jordin Sparks opened for them. She was very good! Loved her yellow dress, and she opened with One Step At A Time. Loved it!

DSCN2590

They had a wicked stage set up. A 360-degree-view polygon stage, with walkways on two ends with large screens above, and a drum-like screen above the main stage. It came up and down, so it worked as some sort of curtain too.

DSCN2702

Loved the colors throughout their shows. GREAT light work.

DSCN2659

Here you can see Joe on the right side screen. Neat idea to have all of those screens, since we were pretty far away 🙂 lol.

RSCN2802

This was during Poison Ivy, pretty sure it’s one of Amanda’s favorite 🙂

DSCN2616

Here’s a snapshot of the neat screens right above the main circular stage. Heya there Nick!

DSCN2624

Performing Fly With Me right after Nick (with white piano) emerged from the center of the stage, via-stage elevator. Neat-o!

DSCN2653

DSCN2648

This gives you a pretty good idea of how far up we were. Look at those lights! I’m actually pretty glad we were that high up, because we were able to see all of the lights in action. I enjoyed that. I’m sure Amanda would take being front row any day though. lol.

SOSmandabup

SOS is one of my favorites, so I’m glad they played it. Here’s Amanda, singing and clapping along. I was happy to see her get out of her comfort zone and sing out loud 🙂 And near the end they played Burnin’ Up… lets just say, it was a dance party where we were standing. ha!

DSCN2687DSCN2691

So yeah, it was a fun night. I’m pretty sure I have never heard something like it before… and I’m referring to the screaming girls of course! Holy guacamole! Those girls have quite the lungs. Yeah, yeah, I must admit I had my share of screaming attacks, but it was mostly singing really loud on my part. Amanda seemed to really enjoy herself, and I’m glad we were able to do this together.

It’s pretty neat, because I think now, she can understand even better how I felt when I got to see Paper Route live. There’s nothing like seeing your favorite band in concert. Their energy and love for the crowd is incredible, and that just puts a huge smile on my face 😀

4 Comments leave one →
  1. amanda:) permalink
    July 13, 2009 9:39 PM

    haha,this is awesome:)
    i love what you did with all the pictures and the captions under them.
    i had sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo much fun:) lol

    love you!!!
    -amanda

  2. MOM permalink
    July 13, 2009 11:43 PM

    Very nice Emily!!! I like how you put all those pictures and describe the whole night in few words!!! GOOD JOB:)

  3. July 14, 2009 9:13 AM

    Oh Emily, you are the sweetest sister ever! I miss you girl!

  4. July 30, 2009 9:37 AM

    Oh it turned out so great! I love it! So glad you girls got to do that together, and that you put photos up so I could enjoy it too 🙂

Leave a Reply

