Skip to content

bobby long in oregon

August 14, 2009

After watching some Harry Potter with Morgan, last Sunday (8.9.09), I headed to SW Portland to watch one of my favorite artists live. Bobby Long is yet another British gem with such great talent. I actually found him through Marcus Foster back in Januray, love his music!!

bobbylong

I got there with plenty of time to spare, so I got my ticket at the door, got stamped and walked right next door to Voodo Donut (if you’re ever in the area, check them out!). I had the amazing peanut butter + chocolate masterpiece, Gavin (from Paper Route) had when they played back in May, and I just had to try it . šŸ™‚ As you can see, there’s no photo of this awesome creation… well, lets just say, I pretty much inhaled it. YUM.

DSCN3841DSCN3903DSCN3845DSCN3848

While I was waiting in line for my donut experience, I got a glimpse of Bobby walking by with his manager. I held the urge to point and wave hello, and I almost tap the stranger in front of me to tell them, but I ended up giggling to myself instead and texted Mo to let her know. lol.

Once inside, not really finding anywhere to sit, I just walked around between the concert venue and restaurant/bar area of the whole place. I got his Album and a pretty sweet tour poster. The opening acts were pretty good, I listened a while, but just kept on walking around. I saw that Bobby was playing pool and was occasionally talking to a group of people… I was too shy to walk over and say hello, the nerves got the best of me I suppose.

DSCN3850DSCN3855

To my pleasant surprise though, I got my chance to say hi minutes before he was going on stage. I was sitting by the pinball machines (right behind the stage) checking my phone, when I look up and there he was. I figured it was my chance, so I got up and introduced myself. Side note: I’ve been working on my handshake, and I think I did pretty good when I said hello. Ok, back to the meeting. He was super friendly and polite. He asked me how I was doing, and if I was having a good night, I told him it was great! It had obviously gotten way better right there and then, but I kept that part to myself šŸ™‚

We talked briefly about his tour, on how many gigs he’d done and what was left, and that he was enjoying being on the road. He also expressed honest excitement about being here, in Portland, and that he’s looking forward to coming back in November! yay!

He apologized for cutting it short, but he was literally going on stage in just a couple of minutes, so we said our “laters” and made my way to the audience area.

DSCN3873
DSCN3883DSCN3888

He was just brilliant. To be honest, I didn’t know what to expect of his act. I didn’t know if he traveled with a band, or not. All I had heard of his music was what was on his myspace and iTunes. I kept myself from watching any youtube videos so that I would be surprised… and I was not disappointed.

All he had with him on stage were his guitar, and harmonica. Perfection. His vocals were unreal and he was just so charming up there. He joked and talked to us, and again, mentioned hopefully coming back in November! We, of course, are pretty excited for that.

He sang Left to Lie, which is pretty much one of my top favorites, so I had to record it! I was thankful my camera had enough memory and that my arms were pretty steady through the filming. Yay for small accomplishments!

BLdone

After he was done, he walked over to his booth. He chatted, signed autographs and took pictures with us all. He was just a total sweetheart.

withbobby

I was lucky to get his autograph and get a quick photo before I took off. Yay! Hopefully I’ll get to see him play again in the future. SO good.

landofdreamsAlso, if you’re interested, check out The Land of Dreamers, a pretty neat online community that supports Bobby Long, Marcus Foster and Sam Bradley… all superb musicians. Check them out!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 14, 2009 9:50 PM

    Hey, awesome review of Bobby’s show! I was there, too! And thanks for mentioning the Land of Dreamers! I’m the WA, ID, (and I think OR, lol) state leader! I’m glad you had a great experience. Bobby’s an amazing talent and a lovely person!!

  2. CORIVERGIRL permalink
    August 14, 2009 10:09 PM

    Good post – jealous but happy to see you loved the music. I hope to see Bobby and Marcus as soon as possible. Thank you.

  3. Jelly permalink
    August 14, 2009 10:13 PM

    thanks for this, I always love to hear about other fans and their experiences at his shows. He is a total sweetheart and I am so glad to hear you had a good time at his show. Keep up the great work and stories
    HUGS

  4. Mandy permalink
    August 15, 2009 7:20 AM

    Great write up on Bobby. I hope one day to see him live!

  5. MoMo permalink
    August 21, 2009 11:42 AM

    “Standin’ here holdin’ up my hands to a crooked sky.”

    Great post about the show Emily! [as usual] Glad you got to meet him!

    • August 21, 2009 11:53 AM

      Next time, you’re coming with! I think you would really dig his live awesomeness.

Trackbacks

  1. treat « a work in progress
  2. done « a work in progress

Leave a Reply

