Skip to content

paper zombies

November 1, 2009

halloween 09

When it comes to Halloween, it takes me forever to get creative and decide on an idea for a costume. This year was no different, but I was able to come through at the last minute πŸ™‚

I finalized the concept, only a couple of days before the Halloween parties I was attending, and got to work. I know it needed to be DYI, with anything and everything I could find in my own closet and makeup tray. I decided to draw inspiration from two of my favorite things, Paper Route and Zombieland. What do you get when the two are mixed? Well, you get a zombie paper girl of course.

DSCN4934

The night before Morgan+Sara’s party in Portland, I got to work on my messenger bag. I re-purposed an old jean bag that I hadn’t finished from high school, and used a long fabric belt for the strap. For the newspaper prop, I went through my recycle bin and grabbed all those annoying coupon newspaper things you get in the mail all the time. I rolled those up, stuffed the bag, and made a patch that said PR on the front. For the outfit, I just made a mess out of myself, and then got to work on the zombie makeup. This last part, took me longer than I expected, but it was pretty entertaining to make yourself look awful.

DSCN4954DSCN4941

So I got to use this costume idea for two nights (on actual Halloween at Sarah’s house), and I’m glad people got it. My favorite part was telling some strangers about Paper Route being my favorite band, and I might have gushed about it like a proud parent, talking about her honor roll kids ❀

DSCN4843-2DSCN4828
An action shot with the Wicked Witch of the West.Hanging in the Hood with Robin.

DSCN4863DSCN4824
Typical
Draper family portrait. ……………………………… Don’t mess with us.

DSCN4858
DSCN4810DSCN4839
DSCN4790

Friday night at Morgan+Sara’s was a blast. They dressed up their house in the coolest decorations, it was fun to see all of the creepy details, from the very entrance to the witch’s brew! And my favorite part of Sarah’s party on Saturday was her Lego costume and getting a tour of their under-construction house, down the block. Will be uploading the rest of the photos to FB tomorrow πŸ™‚

Hope YOU had a fun and safe Halloween!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

