Skip to content

mat kearney in oregon

November 5, 2009

11.3.09

It finally happened.
We saw Mat Kearney play live in Oregon.
And yes, it was pretty epic.

matpdx09

The day started pretty early. Got myself ready for work, actually ate some yummy breakfast, and made sure to pack my favorite pair of jeans, and my black and white chucks… all to change after work, before heading up to Portland. I of course, forgot my concert ticket at home, and had to run back and get it… a classic move, of course.

Katie and I hit road after what seem like a long day at work, and talked about our plan of attack… aka, strategic placement in the crowd for better photos, and whether to get merch before or after the gig. We grabbed a slice at Pizza Schmizza once we got to the East side, and were quickly on our way to the Roseland.

DSCN5039DSCN5046

We found a good parking spot and walked a couple of blocks, with smiles on our faces, and amazed at the fact that we would see Mat, in the flesh, within a couple of hours. Katie being the most excited… she’s Mat’s greatest fan out there, just so you know. Once we spotted the venue, we quickly made it to the end of the line, that was already a little bit over half a block, and waited in the chilly night to be let inside.

IMG_1202
DSCN5059DSCN5068
DSCN5051DSCN5067-2

Once inside, we got the goods, and worked our way to the front for a good seat… well, standing area.
We were literally looking at the clock every 10 to 15 minutes, singing along to Marvin Gaye & Tammi Terrell’s Aint No Mountain High Enough while we waited, and of course, slowly but surely working our way for a better view of the stage.

Vedera opened for Mat, and they were pretty amazing. Kristen’s voice was incredible, and later, before we left the venue I had to stop by and tell her so. She was a sweetheart in the few seconds I stopped to say hello. Totally check them out when you get a sec.

DSCN5179DSCN5076

Mat came out a little bit after 9 p.m. and we all went wild. The stage setup, his band, his presence… it was all just wonderful, and a little surreal.

My camera battery was halfway dead, so I tried to conserve power, still hoping I would be able to get enough shots of him and the band through out the night. I’m happy to report, my little buddy came through for me, so here are photos from Mat’s visit to Portland. I hope you enjoy them 🙂

DSCN5081

DSCN5085

DSCN5089

DSCN5091

DSCN5098

DSCN5094

DSCN5100

DSCN5106

DSCN5108

DSCN5110

DSCN5114

cityofbw

DSCN5116DSCN5117

DSCN5118

DSCN5120

DSCN5128

DSCN5122

DSCN5124DSCN5129

At one point I did something I’ve always wanted to do at a show… After a song, Mat said, “Portland, Oregon…” and I yelled, “WE LOVE YOU!” and giggled… and he says softly into the mic, “I love you too.” It was pretty rad. 🙂

DSCN5132

DSCN5136

DSCN5137

DSCN5139

DSCN5141

DSCN5144DSCN5146

DSCN5148

Yes, your eyes are not lying, that is Mr. Kearney himself. He went into the crowd and worked his way towards the area where we were, and he was literally less than two feet away… Katie was smart enough to reach out to him, I on the other hand, was so flustered by the fact that he was right there, and I just knew I had to click away… sigh, good times.

DSCN5150DSCN5151

DSCN5152

DSCN5158

DSCN5163

DSCN5165

DSCN5166

DSCN5173

DSCN5174DSCN5175

It was a wonderful show overall. He has a lot of energy, and we couldn’t believe he was actually here, playing for us! Home-state shows must be the best thing for a musician, so I hope we gave him a warm welcome, and a fantastic night to remember. Hope to see you back soon Mat!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Katie Christine Sciarrino permalink
    November 5, 2009 11:17 AM

    It was good to share this experience with you. Looking at these photos makes me miss him a little. 😉

  2. MoMo permalink
    November 5, 2009 12:13 PM

    This looks like it was a FANTASTIC show! Your photos are out of control! good photography skills! You guys had a good spot for sure. He brushed right by you two!

    love love love it!
    glad you ladies had fun!

Trackbacks

  1. we were there « a work in progress
  2. year 28 « bear

Leave a Reply

