Skip to content

twelve

November 22, 2009

Twelve years ago today, I was a wide-eyed 13-year-old, entering this beautiful country for the first time.

I remember being so scared of saying a word, because my english wasn’t strong enough to hold a  conversation. Without God’s grace and daily help, I wouldn’t be here… so, thank you Lord for always watching over me and my family, and helping me with my english every step of the way. We were also very blessed to be welcomed with open arms by our new extended  family here, and later on, by the new friends I made in school.

Since I got my citizenship this past January, I now have a crispy new passport waiting to be used for the first time tomorrow. After a dozen years exactly, I get to visit my family in Honduras!! I’m both nervous and excited… I just hope my spanish comes back in full force and I’m not left saying, “como se dice?” or drawing pictures to communicate… We’ll see how it goes.

I can’t wait to see as much family as possible, visit places from my youth, have home cooking, and just see everything around me with brand new eyes 🙂

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 21, 2009 10:31 AM

    Merry Christmas to you too!

Leave a Reply

