Skip to content

¿me quiere abuelita?

December 26, 2009

When I was younger and even at 25, I used to ask my abuelita Juanita, ” ¿me quiere abuelita?” (do you love me?). She would always giggle first, and then sweetly answer, “si mamita, con todo my corazon!”

>>>

Tonight, I lost the most important person in my life.
My abuelita Juanita is now resting in peace.

I can’t even begin to explain the pain and sadness that are consuming me… I don’t understand how to even fuction. It’s like a part of me has left this world, with her.

Trying to find a good answer for why she’s gone, would be impossible… therefore, I’m taking comfort in the fact that she must have been ready to leave us, and continue praising God in her new home, Heaven. She is now watching over all of us, along with my abuelita Blanca, who left to be with the Lord a few years ago.

Abuelita Juanita is the one who shaped me to be the person I am today.
Her words, her love, her compassion, her immense faith in the Lord, are only a few of the things that made her so beautiful and special to me. She raised me since birth, and was like another mother to me. We went through a lot together, and I will never forget our adventures.

I was fortunate enough to see her a few weeks ago, when I went back to Honduras.
I stayed with her for a few days, and we talked, laughed, cried and prayed together. I will never forget our last visit. On the 24th, Christmas Eve, we were able to talk on the phone for a while, and I thank God for that wonderful gift. All of that feels like a distant dream now, a very wonderful dream.

Thankfully, and God willing, my mom and I will head down to Honduras, and be there to celebrate her life with our family, and bid farewell to such an amazing part of all of our lives.

How to carry on? That’s the question now…

Thank you God because you blessed me with such a loving and caring abuelita… words are not enough to say how grateful I am, and forever will be. Please, just give me the strength and courage I need to keep moving.

La quiero mucho abuelita… y yo se que usted nos esta cuidando desde el cielo.
Y tambien se, que continuara orando por cada uno de nosotros, como lo hacia en vida.
Gracias por todo su amor, su paciencia, su fortaleza, y su bondad… algun dia, quiero llegar a ser como usted.  La queremos con todo el corazon, y algun dia nos volveramos a reunir en la vida eterna.

Abuelita Juanita.  1 de Mayo, 1930 — 26 de Diciembre,  2009

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 27, 2009 6:59 PM

    Emily, I’m so sorry to hear about your Grandma. What a loss! She sounds like she was a beautiful woman; thanks for sharing this tribute to her life. Love ya, and praying for you as you go through this difficult time.

    Rachel

  2. Morgan permalink
    December 30, 2009 1:22 PM

    You have her smile. She is surely watching over you now. SO sorry for your loss emily.

  3. Katie Christine Sciarrino permalink
    January 4, 2010 11:11 AM

    Isn’t she the cutest grandma?! Make it your mission to carry on all her best qualities and she will be with you every day. Cherish that photo.

    Hope you are happy—surrounded by family. All is well on the WU front. 🙂

  4. fabiola permalink
    January 27, 2010 7:18 AM

    la extrañamos abuelita… besos…

Leave a Reply

