Skip to content

the young victoria

January 26, 2010

When you get the chance, please go watch The Young Victoria at a theatre near you.
This film was visually enchanting, wonderfully pieced together, with stunning wardrobe and set design, and with beautiful performances by Emily Blunt and Rupert Friend.

Period films are some of my favorites, and the neat thing is, they spark a curiosity to know more about these real life characters, from long ago. I will be honest, I didn’t know much about the life of Queen Victoria before tonight, but I’m sure itching to read more about her life, and her love story with Prince Albert. If you have any suggestions on any reading materials, I would really welcome them ❤

Of course, I couldn’t leave without sharing a music gem with you all.
In the credits, and in the film’s official website, you can hear the lovely song by Sinead O’Connor, Only You. Also, the Original Score is a keeper, and being the hopeless romantic I am, this hits the spot.

Sinead O’Connor — Only You


Well, that is all.
I’m glad I was able to go and relax at the movies, and chat with my friend Lisa… it’s been a long and interesting day. Time to hit the hay.

Night world.

P.S.
Lisa and I went to Salem Cinema to watch The Young Victoria. I totally recommend you visit them at their newest location, on Broadway St. here in Salem 🙂 It’s one of the cutest cinemas since I don’t know when! And even the concession stand’s young man was so proper and old school. Loved it.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Katie Christine Sciarrino permalink
    January 27, 2010 10:26 AM

    It’s official, if I ever get a pet I will name it Rupert (if he’s a he).

Leave a Reply

