Skip to content

johnny flynn + the sussex wit in oregon

May 18, 2011

5.16.11

Up to this point, I’ve been fortunate enough to see most of my favorite musical acts live, and even gotten to meet some of them up close. Monday night was one of those magical moments, equally brilliant as when I met Paper Route, because just like them, Johnny Flynn is my favorite singer/songwriter of all time.

I still can’t get over it. Somebody pinch me.

When his US tour dates were announced, I couldn’t believe Oregon was his second stop. I proceeded to grab tickets, do a little dance, and yell it out to the wind. I was going to see Johnny Flynn and the Sussex Wit for the first time, after following his music for nearly three years. He is without a doubt one of the best poets/songwriters of my generation.

After taking a quick nap while an episode of Doctor Who played in the background, I got ready to head up to Portland. I got there with plenty of time to find parking, walk off the nerves (I always get tummy aches when I’m about to see a band I really like), and test my camera. The opening act for Johnny was Caitlin Rose. Her voice was really good and so strong, it was definitely a great way to start the evening.

Nearly an hour later, it was Johnny’s turn. I made my way up to the front, and became concert buddies with three other girls who were also happy to be there. I’m glad to be of average height, because I didn’t feel one bit guilty to be at the front 🙂

Johnny opened with The Box and it really hit me: I’m seeing Johnny Flynn, all the way from the UK here in my home state, LIVE!

Every single song after that was incredible. Every time he would pick up a different instrument, we knew something awesome was coming our way. He plays the violin, the guitar, the banjo, to name a few. The entire band sounded so amazing and loud; the good kind of loud, loud enough to make your heart vibrate with every beat. I tapped my foot, I sang along, I yelled, danced from side to side, and pretty much hanged on every word Johnny was singing.

So, here are a few of the shots from the night, I hope they can tell a bit of the story of the day I met Johnny Flynn and The Sussex Wit.

Lillie, Johnny’s sister, plays the harmonium. Yeah, I have never seen one either, but she was really nice about explaining how she plays it. Such a neat little box of awesomeness.

I’ll just drink pails full of rain.


In true English fashion,  he had tea as his refreshment. Too cute.


This is one of my favorites

Here’s Johnny, giving James a hard time. lol.

>>
This is one of my top favorite song in the Been Listening album.

See also the version with Laura Marling, here.

It was so amazing to chat with all of them, even if just for a little while. Thank you Johnny, Lillie, David, James and Adam, for coming to Oregon!! I hope the rest of the tour is fantastic! Thanks for such a lovely night.

xoxo,
em.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Jane permalink
    May 18, 2011 11:50 AM

    I was there, too! I’m so glad to see your pictures. Mine all turned out terribly because I was halfway back & don’t have a top camera.

    Haha, I find it funny you mentioned Doctor Who because Johnny & I talked briefly about it when I chatted with him after the show. 😀

    The whole band was super nice & it was wonderful to meet them & finally see him with them!! I agree: he’s one of the best singer/songwriters and one of my favorite musicians ever!!

    <3<3

  2. Jane permalink
    May 18, 2011 11:55 AM

    Also:

    • May 18, 2011 12:02 PM

      Thank you for sharing those videos, Jane! I had been meaning to look them up, since he mentioned the session. I’m sorry about your photos :/ so, I’m glad these ones put a smile on your face 🙂

      I heart Doctor Who so much! That’s too funny you talked with Johnny about it! LOVE it.

      Thanks for stopping by!!

  3. becky permalink
    May 18, 2011 4:56 PM

    I was also at the show, but due to an early start to my Tuesday morning, I couldn’t stick around to chat with everyone after the show. You might know me as the girl who told Johnny to “put a bird on it” when he was talking about Portlandia, and got the whole place laughing when he repeated it (TWICE). 😀 I actually drove up to Seattle in November to catch Johnny play a solo-acoustic show, and the difference in sound between him solo and with the band is outstanding! His sound is so much fuller and vibrant with the band, and he was actually able to play a few songs (like Hong Kong Cemetery and Leftovers) that he can’t really play acoustically.

Leave a Reply

