Skip to content

potter forever

July 31, 2011

My love for Harry Potter started the night I asked my younger brother to let me borrow something to read, more than 12 years ago. I knew his favorite book was Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone, so I gave it a go. The rest, like they say, it’s history. I devoured the books, and my love for reading just kept on growing.

Later on, the films came, and I remember going to all of them with my brother and friends. Once I got a hold of the DVDs I would watch them during my late nights at the computer lab, or at home, while I was in college. And still, to this day, I watch them as if it was my first time doing so.

Through this fantastic story, I’ve made great friends, met wonderful people, and have fond memories of my brother and I discussing the books and films, and simply geeking out about anything and everything to do with Harry Potter.

I got the chance to attend the midnight showing of Deathly Hallows Pt. 2, and I must say, that was a great way to end such a brilliant run with these beloved films. I sat there, amongst many Potter lovers, laughing, clapping and most of all crying. But, even though the books and films are now over, we all know that Harry Potter will forever be part of our lives. I owe J.K. Rowling my love for reading, and so much more. It might sounds silly to some, but if you love these stories as much as I do, you’ll have no problem relating.

So, as part of this journey comes to an end, something new has arrived to keep the PotterLove alive. Pottermore is coming out this year, a place online where we’ll be able to experience this story in a new and exciting way. I was one of the lucky ones to get in, after the first clue was revealed past midnight this morning. It took forever to get my owl (aka email) but I’m officially in! I can’t wait to see what comes next!

I could literrally go on forever, telling you how much Jo has changed my life, and someday I hope to meet her and simply say, “thank you.” And I hope that those two little words will convey all the love and respect I have for her and the magical world she introduced us to.

What’s your Harry Potter story? When did you first read the books, or watched the films?

And last, but not least:

HAPPY BIRTHDAY HARRY POTTER & J.K. ROWLING!!

Here’s to many more  years of awesomeness ❤


(image credit: not mine. internet find) 

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 2, 2011 8:54 AM

    My first time? College, Freshman year 2000. I remember reading it on my Twin XL late into the night. I think it was my Grandma Millie who bought me the first book. I remember one summer I was in VA working a summer camp and she mailed me the then latest book (the blue one). I remember reading it in my bunk.

    You should write J.K. Seriously. Send her one of those Emily notes. Maybe she’ll post it on her “best fans ever” bulletin board. You know she’s got one. xooo

Leave a Reply

